Tags

, ,

The day after my first chemo infusion, Jeremy came in with the mail and handed me a padded envelope. Inside was a wonderful gift! First, a card with the words: “sending you heartfelt good wishes for peace and healing!” signed by 20 strangers. Then, wrapped in pretty tissue, was the softest, most beautiful head scarf. It’s deep shades of purple, wine, black, with a tiny embellishment of Swarovski crystals. This headcovering is already formed and pre-tied, I guess for a better fit.

20111231-165834.jpg

It came from the nonprofit organization associated with France Luxe. They have a little section called Good Wishes. From their website:

Our mission is simple: to provide, free of charge, one beautiful It’s a Wrap or Good Wishes Scarf to women and children experiencing the thinning or loss of hair as a result of illness or treatment, to in some small way, to ease their journey. Our goal is to provide a small bit of comfort and share the power of positive thinking and good wishes with these individuals on their path to healing and recovery.

http://www.goodwishesscarves.org/

So wonderful! When I realized how special this gift was, I really teared up. The thing is, someone I know had to go in and put my name in for this. I don’t know who my head scarf angel is, but I am so thankful! I mean how fashionable can I get with a headscarf? Apparently, VERY. Silk? Crystals? Yes, please.

In my opinion this organization is really doing something special for women (there are a few head coverings for men too). Losing hair is tough, but at least there is something out there that can help decorate the bald head. These people are not curing cancer, they are not raising money for treatment, but they are offering a touch of solace within something pretty awful. There is an area on their website for donations, and I think I would love to offer someone a hug for her head! (it’s tax deductible AND you make someone’s day, perfect!)

