Tags

, , ,

Home: They let me take Jeremy home from the hospital, but he’s still so weak and tired. My white blood cell count is low, so I’m wiped out too. We briefly argued at the hospital about who was going to drive home, but since he had to be wheeled out in a wheel chair, I won. We got his prescriptions, went home, and promptly fell asleep. Luckily my mother-in-law flew out to help, so the kids were being watched after. I have never seen him beat down like this before. Hopefully recovery is on the horizon–we have races to train for participate in!

Hair: My hair started falling out on Saturday night, which totally wrecked my secret desire to “beat the odds” and not lose my hair. Jeremy says that it doesn’t look like its falling out, but I have constant reminders since it is often in my eyes or in my mouth or on my shirt or in my food or in the shower drain. Even though he’s still recovering, Jeremy is ready with the clippers to shave my head when I say it’s time. My scalp hurts right at the root, so it won’t be long until I can’t take it any more. Just one more thing to add to the list of Stupid Things That Happen When You Have Cancer!

Help: Oh the help..we are so blessed to have so much help. Nobody really knows what to do–they can’t make Jeremy instantly better, and they can’t make the chemotherapy side effects any less. But our friends and family do know how to cook! I can’t tell you how comforting it is to not have to struggle through making a meal. I have no way to repay the kindness of these thoughtful people. Jeremy said that I really can’t, but that I can join them when we need to support someone else. I like that. So smart. See? See Why I need him? He’s so Glass Half Full which perfectly suits my Glass Half Empty.

So to wrap up: Jeremy’s Home, my Hair is vanishing, and we are blessedlucky to have such amazing Help.

