Tags

, , , , ,

Today our whole family participated in the Cupid’s Chase 5K race in Georgetown, TX. The best news is this: I beat my goal time by six and a half minutes!!!!! I don’t know where this strength came from. (It may have come from the realization that this bald DOES make my butt look big.) I guess it also comes from the fact that I like entering races and setting goals and then beating those goals. I was a machine today! If you were here right now we would be high-fiving and doing end zone dances.

While running, I noticed a fellow competitor with this on his shirt:

20120204-182223.jpg

Pretty awesome, right? This gentleman is “Scottydog”, and he’s a cancer survivor. Today marked his twelfth race of 2012! He enters all kinds of races and then posts photos and info about the course on the forums at runnersworld.com. You can see his post here. I saw him on the course (when he passed me and finished four minutes ahead of me) and felt empowered by his great shirt.

And speaking of getting passed up by people, Jeremy beat me AND his goal time. I was also beaten by an 11 year-old girl (my daughter), by an 8 year-old boy (my youngest son), and by several people with grey hair. I beat my oldest son and a three-legged dog though, so I feel good abut that.

Somewhere along the course, we came upon a cemetery. These final resting grounds have always made me feel reverent and sad. Today, the sight of gravestones made me feel encouraged–because I don’t have to be in there yet. This cancer treatment stuff is horrible, but it’s all because I don’t want to die anytime soon. I did my best impression of a sprinter when I passed the cemetery, mentally giving cancer the middle finger. Ha! Cancer may have me down, but I’m not out, and I’m not ready to have my own area in any kind of final resting place.

I came in 415th out of 658 total runners, 226th out of 416 females, and 36th out of 58 females in my age division. This is not my best showing, but it was my best effort. I planned to run (jog) some and walk some, and I did. I planned to get a certain goal time, and I obliterated it. I planned to be sort of awesome, and I ended up being awesome times 10.

So…SUCK IT CANCER! I CAN RUN FROM YOU AND LEAVE YOU FAR BEHIND! EAT MY DUST YOU STUPID DISEASE!

20120204-182504.jpg
(photo by Mr. Scottydog)

