Tags

, ,

Oh country music–you can be so funny and so dumb and so poignant. I used to be a country music hater, but at some point in the mid-nineties, I became a fan. I usually like the upbeat stuff, but some of the “my dog died, my baby left me” songs really touch my heart. At some point after my breast cancer diagnosis, one of my work friends came into my office and asked if I had heard a Martina McBride song called I’m Gonna Love You Through It. I said no and she said it sounded just like my story. Since I am always hungry for more information, I immediately Googled the song and then barely made it through the minute it took to read it:

She dropped the phone and burst into tears
The doctor just confirmed her fears
Her husband held it in and held her tight
Cancer don’t discriminate or care if you’re just 38
With three kids who need you in their lives
He said, “I know that you’re afraid and I am, too
But you’ll never be alone, I promise you”

When you’re weak, I’ll be strong
When you let go, I’ll hold on
When you need to cry, I swear that I’ll be there to dry your eyes
When you feel lost and scared to death,
Like you can’t take one more step
Just take my hand, together we can do it
I’m gonna love you through it.

She made it through the surgery fine
They said they caught it just in time
But they had to take more than they planned
Now it’s forced smiles and baggy shirts
To hide what the cancer took from her
But she just wants to feel like a woman again
She said, “I don’t think I can do this anymore”
He took her in his arms and said “That’s what my love is for”

When you’re weak, I’ll be strong
When you let go, I’ll hold on
When you need to cry, I swear that I’ll be there to dry your eyes
When you feel lost and scared to death,
Like you can’t take one more step
Just take my hand, together we can do it
I’m gonna love you through it.

And when this road gets too long
I’ll be the rock you lean on
Just take my hand, together we can do it
I’m gonna love you through it.
I’m gonna love you through it.

The parallels to my own story are astonishing. And even more amazing is the fact that it seems that every time I’m alone in my car, this song comes on and I’m left weeping while looking for a parking space at Target. Music is powerful and a huge part of my life, but this is just too real. Of course, I could always change the channel, turn off the radio, or switch to my iPod, but that would mean I was practicing avoidance behaviors, which can’t be good.

Feelings: Better out than in–and pass the tissues.

